Outward Bound: Colonizing Neptune

92
by Super User, 2 months ago
0 0
A look at Neptune, a potential gateway to the stars...
Visit our sponsor, Brilliant: https://brilliant.org/IsaacArthur/
The Icy Giants, Neptune and Uranus, are often overlooked for as candidates for colonizing our solar system. Even when noted, the focus tends to be on their larger moons like Triton. Today we will challenge that notion by looking at way we might place a colony on the planet itself, and how Orbital Rings and Chandelier Cities might let us colonize any gas giant. We will also look at how helium-3, a core ingredient of aneutronic fusion abundant on Neptune, might serve as the fuel of future starships, and the physics behind some other starship drives future science might give us access to, such as laser propulsion.

Visit our Website: http://www.isaacarthur.net
Support us on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/IsaacArthur
SFIA Merchandise available: http://signil.com/sfia

Social Media:
Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1583992725237264/
Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/IsaacArthur/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Isaac_A_Arthur on Twitter and RT our future content.
SFIA Discord Server: https://discord.gg/v5UKTsz

Listen or Download the audio of this episode from Soundcloud: Episode's Audio-only version:
https://soundcloud.com/isaac-arthur-148927746/colonizing-neptune
Episode's Narration-only version: https://soundcloud.com/isaac-arthur-148927746/colonizing-neptune-narration-only

Credits:
Outward Bound: Colonizing Neptune
Episode 152, Season 4 E38

Writers:
Isaac Arthur

Editors:
Darius Said
Gregory Leal https://www.gregschool.org/gregschoollessons/orbital-rings-and-planet-building
Jerry Guern
Keith Blockus
Mark Warburton
Matthew Acker
Sigmund Kopperud

Producer
Isaac Arthur

Cover Artist:
Jakub Grygier https://www.artstation.com/jakub_grygier

Graphics Team:
Darth Biomech https://www.artstation.com/darth_biomech
Fishy Tree https://www.deviantart.com/fishytree/
Jarred Eagley
Jeremy Jozwik https://www.artstation.com/zeuxis_of_losdiajana
Katie Byrne
Ken York of YD Visual https://www.facebook.com/YDVisual/
Kit Carson
Krisitijan Tavcar https://www.miragedereve.com
Kris Holland (Mafic Studios) www.maficstudios.com
LegionTech Studios https://hades9.com
Sergio Boterio https://www.artstation.com/sboterod?fref=gc

Narrator:
Isaac Arthur

Music Manager:
Luca DeRosa - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Music:
Markus Junnikkala, "Hail the Victorious Dead" https://www.markusjunnikkala.com/
Serena A, "Science"
Stellardrone, "Cepheid" https://stellardrone.bandcamp.com
Chris Zabriskie,"We Were Never Meant to Live Here" http://chriszabriskie.com
Aerium, "Fifth star of Aldebaran" https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRnUJY3l5vIJFGsY3XvW4dQ
NJ Mandaville, "Swell" https://soundcloud.com/nj-mandaville